Introducing the Motelvision Song Contest 2012

Introducing the Motelvision Song Contest 2012

The Motel's 'head office' move from Manchester to London is finally complete, and the good ship starts to breathe life anew (albeit slowly!) To celebrate this happy feat, the 5th Annual Motelvision Song Contest is now underway.

For those of you unfamiliar with the drill, the site's contributors take part each autumn/winter in a fierce battle for supremacy, nominating their favourite singles/released EP tracks/promotional free downloads of the past 12 months, then argue via email over which one is the best. Previously, the results of said endeavours would be published in our print tome, the Fugitive Motel Review of the Year. However, as it is on a Glastonbury-style hiatus this year, Motelvision will instead play out here, in all its digital glory.

The 29 nominated tracks follow below. Contributors are allowed to nominate up to three songs. Their first choice must have been available in exchange for money (ie not a free download), but this rule doesn't apply to second and third choices.

The eligibility period was October 31, 2011 to November 4, 2012 this year - slightly longer than usual due to Kate's general lack of organisation skill over the past 3 or 4 months a lack of stringent print deadlines compared to previous years.

[Motelvision 2012 - Nominees Playlist]

A Place to Bury Strangers - 'Leaving Tomorrow'
Alabama Shakes - 'Hold On'
Alt-J - 'Something Good'
Bat for Lashes - 'Laura'
Ben Howard - 'Only Love'
Benjamin Schoos & Laetitia Sadier - 'Je Ne Vois Que Vous'
Deap Vally - 'Gonna Make My Own Money'
Dirty Projectors - 'Gun Has No Trigger'
Django Django - 'Default'
FAYE - 'Water Against the Rocks'
Frank Ocean - 'Thinkin' 'Bout You'
Grizzly Bear - 'Yet Again'
Japandroids - 'The House That Heaven Built'
Jesca Hoop - 'Born To'
Jessie Ware - '110%'

Linkin Park - 'Burn It Down'
The Maccabees - 'Ayla'
M. Ward - 'Primitive Girl'
Money - 'So Long (GODISDEAD)'
Niki & the Dove - 'Tomorrow'
NZCA/Lines - 'Compass Points'
Ólafur Arnalds - 'Endalaus II'
Petite Noir - 'Til We Ghosts'
Public Service Broadcasting - 'Spitfire'
Rudimental/John Newman - 'Feel the Love'
Shearwater - 'Breaking the Yearlings'
Tigercats - 'Harper Lee'
The Walkmen - 'Heaven'
Young British Artists - 'Everything In Front of You'

The songs are now narrowed down through a series of stages. The next is a Eurovision-style round in which everyone writes back with their top 10 songs in order of preferences - but more on that in a fortnight's time...